put our foot on the gas and accelerate growth 2017/2018 Interim - - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

put our foot
SMART_READER_LITE
LIVE PREVIEW

put our foot on the gas and accelerate growth 2017/2018 Interim - - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

2017/18 Interim Results Analyst & Investor Presentation November 2017 Ready to put our foot on the gas and accelerate growth 2017/2018 Interim Results Disclaimer This Document comprises the written materials/slides for a


slide-1
SLIDE 1

2017/18 Interim Results

Analyst & Investor Presentation November 2017

Ready to put our foot

  • n the gas and

accelerate growth

slide-2
SLIDE 2

Disclaimer

2017/2018 Interim Results 2

  • This Document comprises the written materials/slides for a presentation concerning Majestic Wine PLC (the “Company”) and its unaudited Interim results

for the 26 weeks ended 2 October 2017 (the “Interim Results”).

  • By reviewing this presentation you agree to be bound by the conditions set out below.
  • No reliance may be placed for any purposes whatsoever on the information in this document or on its completeness. The presentation is intended to

provide a general overview of the Company’s business and does not purport to deal with all aspects and details regarding the Company. Accordingly, neither the Company nor any of its respective directors, officers, employees or advisers nor any other person makes any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to, and accordingly no reliance may be placed on, the fairness, accuracy or completeness of the information contained in the presentation or of the views given or implied. Neither the Company nor any of its respective directors, officers, employees or advisers nor any other person shall have any liability whatsoever for any errors or omissions or any loss howsoever arising, directly or indirectly, from any use of this information or its contents or otherwise arising in connection therewith.

  • Certain statements in this presentation regarding the Company are or may be forward-looking statements. These forward-looking statements are neither

historical facts or guarantees of future performance. Such statements are based on current expectations and belief and, by their nature, are subject to a number of known and unknown risks and uncertainties which may cause the actual results, prospects and developments of the Company to differ materially from those expressed or implied by these forward-looking statements.

  • The information contained in this presentation is for background purposes only. The subject matter of the presentation may be subject to change and the

Company does not take any responsibility for updating or amending the contents to reflect such changes. The material contained in this presentation reflects current legislation and the business and financial affairs of the Company which are subject to change without notice and audit, and is subject to the provisions contained within legislation.

  • This presentation summarises information contained in the Interim Results. Without prejudice to the generality of these conditions, this summary

information, including any views given or implied, or any statement made, in relation to such information should not be relied upon, nor should it be treated as accurate or complete. This presentation and all such information contained herein should be read subject to the Interim Results.

  • The information contained in this presentation has been obtained from Company sources and from sources which the Company believes to be reliable but

it has not independently verified such information and does not guarantee that it is accurate or complete.

  • No statement in this presentation is intended to be a profit forecast and no statement in this presentation should be interpreted to mean that earnings

per Company share for current or future financial years would necessarily match or exceed the historical published earnings per Company share.

slide-3
SLIDE 3

Reminder: 2 years into a 3 year plan and we are on track:

3

1 2 3

2017/2018 Interim Results

1 2 3

Test and learn Prove the model Heavy Lifting Processes and Infrastructure Roll Out Back the winners

FY2016 FY2017 FY2018 FY2019

slide-4
SLIDE 4

4

Context: We are operating in a tough market

Weak UK consumer demand Higher input prices UK competition tough Global supply challenges

2017/2018 Interim Results

Expect the short term to be tough

slide-5
SLIDE 5

5

Profits UP We have the investment

  • pportunities to

GROW Foundations SOLID

1 2 3

Ready to accelerate growth

2017/2018 Interim Results

  • Coming to the end of the

heavy lifting

  • Key ongoing projects on

budget and on track

  • Building confidence that the

Retail transformation is sustainable long term

  • Restored ROIs
  • Continue to grow our

investment in new customer acquisition in Retail and Naked

  • Ready to grow - on track

with our three year plan

  • Group Adjusted EBIT up

£6.9m because:

  • Naked profitable AND

GROWING in all 3 markets

  • Retail transformation flowing

through to the bottom line

slide-6
SLIDE 6

6

Profits UP We have the investment

  • pportunities to

GROW Foundations SOLID

1 2 3

Ready to accelerate growth

2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-7
SLIDE 7

Group profit growth driven by Naked Wines

7 *Retail and Naked Wines adjusted for IT cost reallocations to PLC 2017/2018 Interim Results

0.4 0.8 0.6 6.0 1.3 0.1 0.7 7.3

  • 1

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

FY17 H1 Adj EBIT Retail Commercial Naked Wines Underlying NW spend phasing L&W PLC FY18 H1 Adj EBIT

*Retail and Naked Wines adjusted for IT cost reallocations to PLC

(and flattered by £1.3m of investment phasing to be spent in H2) Group

  • up Adj

Adj EBI BIT (Underlyi

ying)

FY18 H1 vs FY17 H1 GBP m

slide-8
SLIDE 8

Naked Wines profit driven by the USA

8

Naked USA now the most profitable part

  • f Naked Wines

2017/2018 Interim Results

Nak aked W ed Wines ines EBI BIT FY18 H1 Total: £4.7m

slide-9
SLIDE 9

That growth has been driven primarily by growth in contribution

9 2017/2018 Interim Results

  • 2.5

3.8 3.2 0.3 4.7

  • 3
  • 2
  • 1

1 2 3 4 5 6

FY17 H1 EBIT Mature Angel Contribution Change in spend Change in Fixed Costs FY18 H1 EBIT

Nak Naked ed Wines ines EBIT EBIT (Under (Underlying) ying) FY18 H1 vs FY17 H1 GBP m

slide-10
SLIDE 10

We have grown Mature Contribution DESPITE lower investment in marketing

10 2017/2018 Interim Results

FY18 H1 Mature Angel contribution is 33.3% or £3.8m higher

Contribution hasn’t grown because we’ve cut marketing - it has grown because we:

  • 1. Did not repeat the Direct Marketing mistake in the USA
  • 2. Became more efficient through our test and learn program

5 10 15 20 25 30 FY13 FY14 FY15 FY16 FY17 FY18 H1 Full year

Ma Matur ture Angel e Angel Contribution Contribution FY13-FY18 H1 GBP m

slide-11
SLIDE 11

.. Because we’ve built a real community

2017/2018 Interim Results 11

slide-12
SLIDE 12

12

Profits UP We have the investment

  • pportunities to

GROW Foundations SOLID

1 2 3

Ready to accelerate growth

2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-13
SLIDE 13

We are coming to the end of the heavy lifting

13

New Majestic Website on Naked Platform

NFC now shipped 170,000 next day

  • rders

Product Availability now 84% Data tools to give single customer view 154 of 210 stores now have shelving Launched Franchise - Lite

2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-14
SLIDE 14

Ongoing heavy lifting projects are on track

14

EPOS

New Till systems to be rolled out across the estate in FY2019 giving single customer view

IT update

Replacing 20 year old systems with modern resilient systems

Accounting Systems

To be rolled out in FY2019 to get consistency across the Group

2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-15
SLIDE 15

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

Email capture rate % +2.0%

Building confidence that the Retail transformation is sustainable

15

Franchise-Lite “From Command and Control culture to empowering people to be entrepreneurs” KPIs are improving

Franchise - Lite trial begins

Sustained LFL sales growth

+7.4%

Customer base

  • 3.9

ppts

Repeat Customer Retention

+2.0 ppts

5 star service

+4.1 ppts

Team Retention

2017/2018 Interim Results

Week

slide-16
SLIDE 16

Key to engagement – The Store Meritocracy

16 2017/2018 Interim Results

INPUTS

SERVICE WINE RECOMMENDATIONS CUSTOMER ENGAGEMENT

slide-17
SLIDE 17

Key to engagement – The Store Meritocracy

17 2017/2018 Interim Results

OUTPUT

GROSS PROFIT GROWTH

slide-18
SLIDE 18

Key to engagement – The Store Meritocracy

18 2017/2018 Interim Results

Input Score - Store Behaviours Output Score - Gross Profit

Stor Store e Le Leagu gue e Table ble

SAILI SAILING NG NAILI AILING NG FAILI AILING NG AILI AILING NG

slide-19
SLIDE 19

Key to engagement – The Store Meritocracy

19 2017/2018 Interim Results

Input Score - Store Behaviours Output Score - Gross Profit

Stor tore Lea e League gue Table ble – Sca catter tter Graph ph

Week eek 32 (6 w 32 (6 weeks after F eeks after Franc anchise hise – Lite Lite launc launch) h)

Failing Ailing Sailing Nailing

slide-20
SLIDE 20

What does this mean in practice?

20

FR FROM.. OM... TO.. ...

Stores had to ask for consent Everyone treated the same

Focus on sales

Focus on Outputs e.g. sales Regional Managers - policemen Paper folders and records

Average bonus – £500

£500 Frugal Fund

Meritocracy - the best managers get more responsibility and opportunity

Focus on Gross Profit

Focus on Inputs e.g. customer service

Coaches – here to support Tableau data tools

Target Bonus – £10k

2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-21
SLIDE 21

What has not worked..

21 2017/2018 Interim Results 21

  • 1. Commercial

No progress until 2018 when we have the systems to support growth

  • 2. Retail Customer Retention

Confident that with Team Retention and engagement moving in right direction, this will come

slide-22
SLIDE 22

22

Profits UP We have the investment

  • pportunities to

GROW Foundations SOLID

1 2 3

Ready to accelerate growth

2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-23
SLIDE 23

23

ROI has been restored to 98% = 4.5x LTV return

2017/2018 Interim Results

0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100% 120% 140% FY13 H1 FY13 FY14 H1 FY14 FY15 H1 FY15 FY16 H1 FY16 FY17 H1 FY17 FY18 H1

Naked Wines Return on Investment %

How…

  • 1. We did not repeat the Direct Mail

campaign we ran last year

  • 2. Our 3 key disciplines continue to

deliver

  • a. Test and learn
  • b. Continuous improvement
  • c. Active capital allocation

NB: We will invest wherever we see the best risk/return ratio, and are agnostic about where we can achieve that. Reminder: Our ROI is the recurring annual return divided by the acquisition cost – an annuity. The Life time value (LTV) return of one of our customers is over 450%

slide-24
SLIDE 24

24

The Naked investment pipeline has been growing ...and will continue to grow

Ignoring last year’s blip, investment has grown at around 20% a year

2017/2018 Interim Results

2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 FY13 FY14 FY15 FY16 FY17 FY18 H1 Full year

Inves estment tment in in New ew Cus Customer Acquis tomer Acquisition ition GBP m

Note: Investment in new customer acquisition = Marketing costs plus all contribution / loss on orders until maturity

slide-25
SLIDE 25

25

Financial Review

We have continued to do what we said we would do:

2017/2018 Interim Results

“Deliver sustainable sales growth by growing the customer base” “Translate sales growth to profit growth” “Reallocate underperforming capital while restoring ROI” “Return surplus cash to shareholders”

slide-26
SLIDE 26

26

Group Sales driven by growing the customer base

Naked Wines Commercial Retail

Sales Growth

(Underlying)

TOTAL Lay & Wheeler

+10.9% +8.9%

  • 3.4%

+2.0%

+4.2%

Customer Growth +16.0%

+7.4%

2017/2018 Interim Results

  • 1.8%

+2.7%

slide-27
SLIDE 27

27

Sales growth translated into profitability

2017/2018 Interim Results

Group E

  • up EBI

BIT (Under nderlying) ing) FY18 H1 vs FY17 H1 GBP m

Combination of:

  • Mix shift to Naked Wines
  • Reduction in Naked Wines

new business Minimal expected uplift year on year in H2 Elimination of:

  • Low ROI marketing
  • Dual running costs
  • “One-off”
  • Naked Group

management

0.4 2.3 2.4 1.3 0.9 7.3

  • 1

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 FY17 H1 EBIT Sales at constant GP Margin improvement Marketing phasing Other costs FY18 H1 EBIT

slide-28
SLIDE 28

28

Naked Wines: Sales growth delivered, despite lower growth in new Angels

  • Significant reduction in new business

sales as we drove efficiency in New Customer Acquisition

  • Lower number of new Angels offset by

improved retention

  • End H1 Mature Angels balance is

+15.6% year on year

  • Drives improvement in Gross Margins

2017/2018 Interim Results

  • 10

20 30 40 50 60 70 80 FY17 H1 FY18 H1 New Repeat

  • 23.4%

+22.7% +10.9% Total

Nak aked ed Sales ales (U (Und nder erlyi ying ng) FY18 H1 vs FY17 H1 GBP m

slide-29
SLIDE 29

29

Naked Wines: All markets now profitable and growing

2017/2018 Interim Results

10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 FY17 H1 FY18 H1

AUS USA UK

+34.6% +9.9% +3.5% Sales growth EBIT % EBIT margin movement YoY 3.1% 9.0% 7.2% +6.4 ppts +20.2 ppts +2.3 ppts

Total

+10.9% 7.0% +11.1 ppts

  • Despite reduction in recruitment investment we have sustained double digit sales growth
  • All markets profitable – these margin levels support continued investment in growth

Naked Wine ines s Sales Sales (Und (Underlyi ying) ) FY18 H1 vs FY17 H1 GBP m

slide-30
SLIDE 30

5 10 15 20 25 30 35 40 FY09 FY10 FY11 FY12 FY13 FY14 FY15 FY16 FY17 FY18

..due to high retention of customers

30 2017/2018 Interim Results

Nak aked W ed Wines ines Total Contribution

  • tal Contribution from
  • m Matur

ture Angels e Angels GBP BP m

slide-31
SLIDE 31

118.2 5.5 3.8 0.7 120.6

110 112 114 116 118 120 122 124 126 FY17 sales Price Volume Mix FY18 Sales

FY17 H1 Sales FY18 H1 Sales

31

Retail: Price driven sales growth in a tough market

2017/2018 Interim Results

Retail etail Sales Sales (Under (Underlying) ying) FY18 H1 vs FY17 H1 GBP m

Prices have risen, in line with the market, but we have maintained key price points Volume impact would have been much greater if we hadn’t bought better and invested in customer targeting

slide-32
SLIDE 32

3.7 0.6 0.4 0.1 4.6 3,000 3,200 3,400 3,600 3,800 4,000 4,200 4,400 4,600 4,800 5,000 FY17 EBIT Sales at constant margin Margin Costs FY18 EBIT

32

Retail profits grew despite continued margin pressure

Note: FY17 restated for FX and adjustment of IT costs to Plc costs 2017/2018 Interim Results 2% sales growth, all LfL Trading margin weaker by 30bps

60bps improvement due to reduced costs of selling 0.5% cost increase despite full half

  • f National fulfilment, reflecting

elimination of dual running costs

Ret etail ail EBIT BIT (U (Und nder erlyi ying ng) FY18 H1 vs FY17 H1 GBP m

FY17 H1 EBIT FY18 H1 EBIT

5.0 4.8 4.6 4.4 4.2 4.0 3.8 3.6 3.4 3.2 3.0

slide-33
SLIDE 33

33 2017/2018 Interim Results

H1 2018 H1 2017 YoY £m £m % Adj EBIT 7.3 0.7 NM Addback D&A 3.1 3.3 (6.1%) Adj EBITDA 10.4 4.0 160.0% CapEx (1.6) (1.6)

  • Working Capital Movement

(5.2) 0.4 NM Free Cashflow 3.6 2.8 28.6% FCF Excl Working Capital 8.8 2.4 266.6%

29% increase in cash flow driven by improved profitability:

  • Retained minimal CapEx level

Leverage <1x EBITDA, target remains 0.5x:

  • Financing costs down 12.8% year on

year 33.3% increase in Interim Dividend to 2.0p per share

Returning cash: 33% dividend increase supported by free cash flow improvement

slide-34
SLIDE 34

34

Remain in line with current FY18 market expectations of:

  • Mid single-digit Group Sales growth
  • Marketing phasing reversal
  • c. £3m increase in Group costs YoY

H2 FY18 Financial Guidance

2017/2018 Interim Results

Consensus Range*:

  • FY2018 Sales:

£480.7m - £486.1m

  • FY2018 EBIT:

£16.1m - £18.1m

* As of 22 November 2017

slide-35
SLIDE 35

Conclusion - this is what we have been waiting for

Two years ago, we said that we thought we could create a business that could grow profits sustainably, even in tough markets, because:

  • Naked Wines is already there
  • We could do the same

for Retail, because we know how to attract new customers without

  • pening stores

Naked has done what we said it would do. And after years of building the foundations in Retail, we are ready to do the same So we are now ready to start the growth phase of the plan that we love

  • and we are good at.

Over the next 6 months we will be starting to increase our investment in

  • growth. And it’s funded in the current

forecasts. So if I look excited, I am. And that’s why.

35

slide-36
SLIDE 36

Appendices

36

slide-37
SLIDE 37

26 weeks ended 2 Oct 2017 26 weeks ended 26 Sept 2016 YoY % variance £’000 £’000 £’000 P&L New customers (to maturity) Breakout Sales 11,971 15,637 (3,666)

  • 23.4%

Contribution exc Marketing (477) (6) (471) NM Marketing (4,243) (7,905) 3,662

  • 46.3%

New customer Contribution (4,720) (7,911) 3,191

  • 40.3%

Mature Angels Sales 55,823 45,494 10,329 22.7% Repeat Customer Contribution 15,096 11,322 3,774 33.3% Fixed costs (5,656) (5,947) 291

  • 5%

EBIT 4,720 (2,536) 7,256 286.1% Customer Opening Mature Angels 363,389 299,717 63,672 21.2% Numbers New Mature Angels 71,960 80,459 (8,499)

  • 10.6%

Attrition (64,132) (58,968) (5,164) 8.8% Closing Mature Angels 371,217 321,208 50,009 15.6%

Naked Wines Detail

37 2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-38
SLIDE 38

Return on Investment and Lifetime Value calculations

Reminder:

2017/2018 Interim Results

To illustrate that:

  • If a customer:
  • Cost £100 to acquire
  • Buys 5 x a year
  • Makes £20 contribution per order
  • And has a 25% probability of lapsing

Then the ROI is: [(5x20)-(25%x100)]/100 = 75% Then the LTV is: ((1/25%)*100)/100 = 400% ROI (Return on Investment) is the recurring additional contribution (net of replenishment costs) per year, generated by this period’s acquisition cost LTV return (Lifetime Value) is the sum of lifetime contribution from a customer divided by the cost of the customer

38

slide-39
SLIDE 39

H1 2018 Results Summary

39 2017/2018 Interim Results

H1 2018 £’000 H1 2017 £’000 Reported % YoY Underlying % YoY Revenue 217,361 205,640 +5.7% +4.2% Adjusted EBIT 7,337 700 NM NM Adjusted PBT 6,771 51 NM Profit before tax 3,079 (4,404) Basic EPS 2.4p (6.1p) Adjusted EPS 7.9p 0.7p NM Dividend per share 2.0p 1.5p +33.3% Free Cash Flow 3,565 2,832 +25.9% Reported net (debt) (25,640) (25,090) +2.2%

slide-40
SLIDE 40

Group Strategy

Our Goal is medium term growth in shareholder value, …by delivering sustainable volume led sales growth, …by growing our customer base, …by…

  • 1. Investing in acquiring new customers, which we can afford to do

because we …

  • 2. Retain existing customers, by generating extreme customer loyalty

The three disciplines that make this happen are: 1. Test and learn. We don’t debate, we test and let the data do the talking

  • 2. Active capital allocation.

We don’t ration capital. We actively pull underperforming capital out and aggressively increase high performing capital

  • 3. Continuous improvement.

Constantly improving the average by losing the bottom 10% of customers, products, suppliers, people

  • Customers get exclusive

wines at preferential prices by…

  • Crowd-funding

winemakers…

  • and using their 7 million

reviews to customise our recommendations

  • We help our customers

make more money from their wine list by…

  • offering national pricing and

scale but local delivery and training, and …

  • using our retail insight to

tailor wine lists to local tastes

  • We help customers to

discover fine wine safely…

  • by helping people find fine

wines they will love…

  • by employing highly engaged

and well trained sales people…

  • who make fine wine

accessible for normal people

  • Helping people find wines

they will love…

  • by employing highly

engaged well trained people…

  • equipped with state of the

art tools…

  • and unique wines

How we deliver that loyalty in …

40

slide-41
SLIDE 41

Group Overview

41 Market size

Sales for the year to 3 April 2017 % increase % of the Group

£2.2bn

(UK)

£262.2m

+5.4%

People – only national chain that employs wine specialists and offers free tastings before you buy

£17bn

(Global)

£144.3m

+26.3%

The model delivers a better wine for less money, and customers become friends with the winemakers

£2.0bn £46.6m

+0.8%

Only company offering local service with national scale and pricing

£0.7bn £12.3m

+36.2%

A highly trained sales team who know how to make fine wine accessible for everyone

56% 31% 10% 3%

Adjusted EBIT

£13.3m £1.4m £2.5m £1.0m

Why invest in us?

Cash generative retail business transforming into a customer focused multichannel retailer Subscription business model with direct marketing expertise and multiyear customer retention Focused on an unloved section of the trade market Creating a business

  • pportunity out of the

demise of en-primeur

Description

The UK’s largest specialist wine retailer Naked Wines funds independent winemakers to make exclusive wines at preferential prices Specialist on-trade supplier targeting independent pubs and restaurants Specialist fine wine merchant

Competitive advantage?

A Company that can grow, even in tough markets:

slide-42
SLIDE 42

Business Unit Detail: Naked Wines

Underlying H1 2018 £’000 H1 2017 £’000 YoY % Revenue 67,794 61,131 10.9% Gross profit 25,100 21,087 19.0% Gross Margin 37.0% 34.5% 2.5ppts Distribution costs (10,482) (9,771) 7.3% Administrative costs (9,898) (13,852)

  • 28.5%

Adjusted EBIT 4,720 (2,536) 286.1%

42 2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-43
SLIDE 43

Business Unit Detail: Naked Wines by geography

2016/2017 Interim Results 43

Underlying H1 2018 £’000 H1 2017 £’000 YoY % Sales UK 27,798 26,864 3.5% US 27,267 24,807 9.9% Aus 12,729 9,460 34.6% Total sales 67,794 61,131 10.9% Adjusted EBIT UK 2,014 1,327 51.8% US 2,447 (2,787) 187.8% Aus 390 (316) 223.4% Central Costs (131) (760) 82.8% Adjusted EBIT 4,720 (2,536) 286.1%

slide-44
SLIDE 44

Business Unit Detail: Majestic Retail

Underlying H1 2018 £’000 H1 2017 £’000 YoY % Revenue 120,640 118,230 2.0% Gross Profit 28,561 27,582 3.5% Gross Margin 23.7% 23.3% 0.4ppts Distribution costs (14,963) (13,661) 9.5% Admin Costs (9,006) (10,178)

  • 11.5%

Adjusted EBIT 4,592 3,743 22.7%

44 2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-45
SLIDE 45

Business Unit Detail: Majestic Commercial

Underlying H1 2018 £’000 H1 2017 £’000 YoY % Revenue 22,636 23,430

  • 3.4%

Gross profit 3,331 3,793

  • 12.2%

Gross Margin 14.7% 16.2%

  • 1.5ppts

Distribution Costs (1,295) (1,598)

  • 19.0%

Admin Costs (1,003) (546) 83.7% Adjusted EBIT 1,033 1,649

  • 37.4%

45 2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-46
SLIDE 46

Business Unit Detail: Lay & Wheeler

Underlying H1 2018 £’000 H1 2017 £’000 YoY % Revenue 6,291 5,350 17.6% Gross Profit 1,856 1,713 8.3% Gross Margin 24.4% 24.5% -0.1ppts Distribution Costs (548) (509) 7.7% Admin Costs (916) (928)

  • 1.3%

Adjusted EBIT 392 276 42.0%

46 2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-47
SLIDE 47

Central PLC costs & Group

47

Underlying H1 2018 £’000 H1 2017 £’000 YoY % Central costs Administrative costs (3,400) (2,733) 24.4% Adjusted EBIT (3,400) (2,733) 24.4% Group Revenue 218,684 209,783 4.2% Gross profit 58,848 54,175 8.6% Gross Margin 26.9% 25.8% 1.1ppts Distribution costs (27,288) (25,539) 6.8% Administrative costs (24,223) (28,237)

  • 14.2%

Adjusted EBIT 7,337 399 NM Net finance charge (566) (649)

  • 12.8%

Adjusted PBT 6,771 (250) NM

2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-48
SLIDE 48

Glossary

Repeat Customer Retention % of repeat and loyal customers from 12 months ago that are still repeat and loyal customers, as measured from our customer databases Product Availability % of targeted range available in stores/on websites as indicated by our inventory reporting Team Retention % of key staff (e.g. store managers) as of 12 months ago still working per payroll records Buy It Again Ratings % of “Yes” scores in the last 12 months as recorded by websites/apps 5* Service Ratings % of service ratings scoring 5* in last two months as recorded by websites/apps/telephone feedback ROI The recurring annual contribution, (net of replenishment costs) per year, generated by this periods acquisition cost Contribution Sales less product costs, costs of fulfiling the sale e.g. branch staff, credit card fees etc. Like-for-like Like-for-like sales trends refer to Retail sales only, includes Calais and excludes the impact of new stores and store closures during the year Underlying Results Underlying movement (a) includes en primeur revenues in year of order not year of fulfilment (b) is calculated using constant FX rates for translation of the comparative period and (c ) IT costs reallocated to PLC Adjusted EBIT Adjusted EBIT is operating profit adjusted for amortisation and impairments of acquired intangibles and goodwill, acquisition costs, share based payment charges, restructuring costs, net fair value movement through P&L on financial instruments and adjusting en primeur results to reflect profits on orders rather than on wine fulfilment Adjusted PBT Adjusted PBT is defined as Adjusted EBIT less net finance charges Free Cash Flow Free cash flow is defined as cash generated from operations less capital expenditure and excluding cash Adjusted items

Group and KPI definitions

48 2017/2018 Interim Results

slide-49
SLIDE 49

Glossary (cont.)

49 Growth Spend The proportion of total investment which is spent on growing the total Angel base Contribution per New Mature Angel Contribution after subtracting all direct costs that are associated with maintaining that Angel (E.g Fulfilment, Customer Service, Cost of Sales, Returns etc) Mature Angel (MA) A subscription customer for four months or more Naked Wines Steady State EBITDA Profit that will be made assuming no new Angels are recruited. Mature Angel base x (Annual Contribution – (Attrition % x CPNMA)) – Fixed Costs Naked Wines ROI The recurring contribution per Mature Angel divided by the cost of acquiring each Mature Angel [C-(AxN)]/N where C = Annual Contribution, A = Attrition rate, N = Cost per New Angel Lifetime Value LTV return: The sum of lifetime contribution from a customer divided by the cost of the customer Recalibration Increasing the Quality and Lifetime spend of Angels through more targeted recruitment Annual Contribution Number of Orders per year x Contribution per Mature Angel Cohort Group of Mature Angels recruited in the same Financial year Repeat Customer Attrition (1 – Repeat Customer Retention %)

Naked Wines

Nurture Customer A customer who has shopped once Active Customer A customer who has made a purchase in the last year Repeat Customer A customer who has shopped more than once in the last year Loyal Customer A customer who has shopped more than six times in the last year Reactivation Reactivating sales from a previous active customer who became dormant NFC National Fulfilment Centre which services around half of Majestic Retail online orders direct to the customer

Majestic Retail, Commercial and Lay & Wheeler

2017/2018 Interim Results